I come from a long line of losers (sacred blood transfusion)

I love Country and Western music.  It speaks to my roots, growing up in the North Louisiana bayous and pine forests.  So while I am a Slavist by intellectual commitment, at my deepest core I am a Southron and a Celt.

However, much Country music makes me cringe.  One sing recently sings of his sordid family history.  He’s not boasting of it, but merely telling.  But the chorus stayed with me (of course the song, being sung magnificently by Montgomery Gentry, helped as well).  (Incidentally, this song hints at why Flannery O’Connor was one of the best theologians of the 20th century).

I come from a long line of losers
Half outlaw, half boozers
I was born with a shot glass in my hand
Part hippie, a little redneck
I’m always a suspect
My bloodline made me who I am.

One could easily retort “No, you’re responsible for your own actions.  Sinner.”  Yeah, fair enough but that’s not the point.

As a Protestant I had always believed that when the Bible mentions the blood of Christ, it always means it symbolically (we’re not really washed in the blood, etc).  In other words it’s not really blood, but a cute metaphor that reinforces our own views about blood, matter, and reality. (In another post I plan to talk about the Church and the transmutation of Christ’s blood).

Okay, so I do have a bad bloodline.  What can be done?

Christ by his Incarnation shares our humanity and heals it from within and brings this to an apex by his conquest of death.  In tandem, the Holy Spirit deifies man through his coming at Pentecost…in other words, we see a sacred blood transfusion (cf. Robert Letham, Through Western Eyes, 246).

When I am united to the body of Christ and drink the wine of the Eucharist, regardless of one’s views on transmutation, this wine becomes blood within me and in some sense this is Christ’s sacred blood within me.  Like the author said above, a sacred blood transfusion.

Comments are closed.

